Melody ~A poem suitable for singing


If you have been a Christian for some time, then maybe you can relate to this “song” I wrote the lyrics but it has yet to be given a tune. I realize that it is completely unflattering and I honestly admit that I am a total failure at being a perfect Christian, whatever that means. I am a wretched sinner, and daily I am reminded of how short I fall of God’s glory.

Melody’s Song:

Let me not be led astray

When I find my heart filled with pain

And let me not be filled with fear

When I search and I can’t find you near

~

And the questions in my mind

Make me feel like I’m a lie

Cause I don’t know just who you are

Yet I say I have you in my heart

~

And let me not be so afraid

That I can’t even bow my head to pray

Lord let me not, be so concerned

With how others say I am to live

~

And all the questions in my mind

Make me feel like I am a lie

Cause I don’t know just who you are

Yet I say I have you in my heart

~

I was raised, to praise your name

Yet I find I say it in vain

My heart is broken, black and blue

Filled with all the sins I can’t undo

~

Am I too much God? Or not enough?

And will you ever with-hold your love?

because I fall short of your glory

And I’m afraid to find you’re just a story

~

And all the questions in my mind

Make me feel like I’m just a lie

Cause I don’t know who you are

Yet I say I have you in my heart

~

But today I rise, dust off the ashes

And choose to live a life to give you praise

I have sinned and let it stop me

But I won’t let it hold me back from you

~

Today I rise, and cast off my sins

Because you took them when you took my place

I will run, and I will follow

Because I know that you are my grace

~

And all the questions in my mind

Won’t make me feel like I’m a lie

Because I know just who you are

You’re the one who’s loved me from the start.


Published by

hislivingfragrance

Living for Jesus

One thought on “Melody ~A poem suitable for singing”

  1. Wow…
    That’s exactly what I’m feeling too.
    Really well done poem/song Annie!
    The blog looks great too. More…sophisticated 😉
    Nate

Leave a Reply

